Q. What is a pre-authorization?
A. At the time that you submit your Sony order, we will request that your financial institution create a pre-authorization hold on your account. This means that we haven’t actually charged your account and you’re not responsible to pay anything or incur any interest yet. Once your order is ready to ship, your credit card will be charged. However, if you ordered a custom configured VAIO PC, payment is deducted from your account as soon as we begin production on your VAIO PC. In the event that your order is cancelled for any reason prior to shipment, pre-authorization holds naturally expire within 15 to 30 days depending on your financial institution.